Skip to main content

MJ? MJ.

There's something to be said for a reputation. I know that, and I understand that. Michael Jordan is widely considered to be the best basketball player of all time - a claim which I won't dispute. He is a living god to the city of Chicago, and if you badmouth him in any way, locals will take it worse than if you'd said unkind things about their wives/mothers, etc.

In Europe, when someone asks where we're from, Jenna answers Chicago, and if I answer, I say Cleveland via Chicago (or something like that). Invariably, everyone's response will mention one of two names: Barack Obama or Michael Jordan. But Jordan *much* more often than Obama.

For the most part, I get it. He was the most dominant player for the better part of a decade. He was the face of the NBA. He starred alongside Bugs Bunny in one of cinema's greatest accomplishments. That's all true and inarguable.

But there's a big part that I don't really get.

For instance, I have a student of age 9. He asked me about basketball at our most recent lesson. He's been to Miami because his parents love Miami (side note, it certainly seems to be the most popular tourist destination in the US from Italy, or at least right there with NYC). I told him my favorite team is the Cleveland Cavaliers, which is who LeBron James plays for. His response was basically "Oh, yes, LeBron James is very good! And Chicago? Michael Jordan very very good!"

Michael Jordan retired from the Chicago Bulls in 1998. He sat out for three full seasons, then rejoined the Washington Wizards for two seasons, retiring for good in 2003.

This student was born in 2005. I don't understand. Has he been watching youtube clips? Has he just been drilled with this from a basketball-happy mother or father? Did he do independent research and have to write an expository essay at school? Do they talk about MJ during Italian soccer telecasts?

The problem is that he doesn't speak enough English to articulate his response or really explain any of it, which is frustrating.

We get asked things by people who are getting signatures for (probably fake) petitions, and if they hear Chicago, you can bet they'll respond with something about Michael Jordan. I guess my real question is when will that wear off? It's already pushing 20 years and a president from Chicago. Is this a bad thing for the city? Will they never get out of that shadow in the same way that (to a smaller extent) every Cleveland team lives in the shadow of none of the others winning championships? It's all very strange to me.

I don't think I have a point. It's just a weird thing to notice while living in another country.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Shenandoah, Northern Virginia, and Racists

Jenna and I spent a chunk of this week in Northern Virginia, in the area around Shenandoah National Park. Shenandoah (which it turns out I've been pronouncing incorrectly for my entire life) was great. There were hikes of all levels and lengths, varying difficulty, varying crowd-levels, and lots more. The park wasn't in full-swing yet, as some of the camping areas don't open until "summer," but there were still plenty of people out enjoying nature, which is nice. Being in nature gets me thinking. After a day of driving along Skyline Drive and doing several small hikes, we hiked a trail called Bearfence . After an incredibly fun scramble up the rocks to the actual peak, we were greeted with what I can only imagine is the best lookout point in the entire park. Sitting on top of a mountain - looking over dozens of other mountains - is a special feeling. As tiny houses in tiny faraway towns fill your vision, you start to think about how those are just people. From...

1000 Words a Day, Day 10: On Old Friends

At some point in college, it dawned on me that my group of friends from home was unusual. Yes, we were all weirdly close an did some objectively strange things to each other (and with each other, but mainly to each other), but apparently it was weird to stay so close to people from your hometown. We all thought nothing of it, because that's just the way we were. Others, however, were surprised and often confused. Some of them were "adopted" into the group of us from the Chesterland area, and it's hard to say how much they still stayed in touch with people who didn't go to high school with us, because they sure assimilated into our friends-since-early-childhood clique. But still, that was only college. Later, I moved to Chicago and found that there were people who I hadn't seen in years who would gladly, willingly, almost eagerly bail me out of I was in a pinch or needed a place to stay. These were people I wasn't even necessarily close  with when we were...

Hyraxes and Elephants and Africa

Sometimes you read things online that can't be true. Sometimes those things turn out to be true. About a year ago I read that the hyrax is the closest living relative to the elephant. The hyrax is roughly the size of a domesticated rabbit - maybe smaller - and looks like a mix between a capybara and a rat. Here is its wiki page . It's amazing. The genetic similarities (if you don't read the wiki page) are because they have similar testicle situations (great band name), their mammaries are patterned in a way that's similar to manatees and elephants, and their "tusks" come from the incisors (same as elephants) whereas almost all animals have "tusks" from their canine teeth. How can something that maxes out at about 10 pounds be nearest relative to something that weighs about 200 pounds at birth? Science is amazing. And while I do want to explore how the above question can be answered, I'll do that on my own time or read about it on the intern...